Breaking News

Jokowi issues regulation on ratification of SMIIC Statute

Jakarta (ANTARA) – President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) has issued a Presidential Regulation No 52 Year 2019 on Ratification of the Statute for the Standards and Metrology Institute for Islamic Countries (SMIIC), which is an affiliated organ of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC).

Indonesia needed to become a member of SMIIC to enable the country play active roles in developing standard and metrology applied by Islamic countries, the Indonesian State Secretary said on its official website here on Wednesday.

Indonesia, a member of the OIC, has competency in advanced standardisation and metrology, hence its membership in SMIIC could be beneficial.

The Presidential Regulation (Perpres) was signed on July 19, 2019, and is effective starting July 24, 2019.

SMIIC, is relatively a new institution and launched its activities for the first time in early 2012 after the official formation of its General Secretariat.

It aims to develop common standards that are applied across the whole of the OIC as a single market which will aid to ensure the protection of consumers, facilitate crossborder trade, ensure the interoperability of products, encourage innovation and technological development, include environmental protection and enable businesses to grow.

SMIIC Strategic Plan 2016-2020 includes five main strategic approaches, notably: to develop highquality standards that can be used regionally and internationally; to enhance society confidence and quality infrastructure; to improve connectivity and integration between members; to develop networking for success; and to develop and improve utilization of resources and capabilities

The current Secretary General fo SMIIC is Ihsan Ovut, who was elected at the 7th General Assembly Meeting held in Istanbul, Turkey, on Nov 20, 2014, and re-elected as the Secretary General for the 2018-2020 term at the 12th SMIIC General Assembly Meeting held on Nov 26, 2017 in Istanbul.

The current members of SMIIC Board of Directors for the 2018-2020 term are Cameroon, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Malaysia, Morocco, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tunisia, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates.

Related news: OIC’s first peace, dialogue meeting held in Jakarta
Related news: King Salman joins with Islamic countries for successful Islamic Summit

Article source:


Related posts

Turkey, Syria and the war that just gets tougher to report

Times of News

Philippines taps innovative wastewater technology to retrofit infrastructure, fulfill tightened environmental regulations

Times of News | India says soldier killed in Kashmir border clash

Times of News