First Test preview: Bangladesh v Australia


Both Bangladesh and Australia come into this dual Test array with a indicate to prove.

For Bangladesh it will be about proof they can hit off a normal powers of Test cricket during home.

Australia will be looking to finish a prolonged empty run in Asia and diffuse a idea that spin is their kryptonite.

The tourists will also have one eye on a Ashes, nonetheless a Shere Bangla track representation is doubtful to offer most of a preview to a home array opposite England.

After their catastrophic debate of Sri Lanka final year Australia put in a most softened opening in a unpleasant array opposite India where they went down 2-1 in a noted Border-Gavaskar prize contest.

They will be though their gait spearhead Mitchell Starc for this array that comes as a outrageous blow as he had begun to uncover signs of apropos an all-conditions bowler.

Quick bowlers Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood are a customarily seamers in a Australia XI suggested by skipper Steve Smith on a eve of a initial Test.

Spinners Ashton Agar and Nathan Lyon will be approaching to get by a towering of overs, depending on how prolonged Bangladesh bat of course, with Smith intimating fifth bowler Glenn Maxwell will be used sparingly.

On a other side however there will be some-more options with a round with Bangladesh means to margin a group with as many as 7 bowlers with their wicketkeeper and skipper Mushfiqur Rahim approaching to bat in a tip five.

Allrounders Shakib-al-Hasan, Nasir Hossain and Sabbir Rahman will get by a array of overs.

Mehedi Hasan detonate onto a general stage final year holding a 10 wicket transport during this venue opposite England and will poise a vital hazard to Australia’s spin-shy batsmen, he is expected to be upheld by left-arm spinner Taijul Islam.

With a new ball, if it isn’t thrown to Shakib, Bangladesh have to select between Taskin Ahmed and Shafiul Islam as a partner for Mustafizur Rahman who will be fervent to infer his red round credentials.

The change and options Bangladesh have will make them unbending antithesis for an Australia group nonetheless to settle on their best batting lineup.

Usman Khawaja has been given another possibility to stir in a deficiency of Shaun Marsh while Peter Handscomb and immature Matthew Renshaw will be looking to concrete their Ashes slots after earnest starts to their general careers.

Up tip David Warner has been struggling for form after a gaunt array opposite India while Smith will bat 4 in this Test and could infer to be a disproportion between a dual sides.

Bangladesh seem to have staid on a tip 3 of Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes and Soumya Sarkar and will be looking to them to yield runs in droves.

Australia’s customarily warm-up diversion was a finish chasm so they will need to adjust on a fly and there are fears they could be held cold by a rival Tigers team.

Key Players

Tamim performs a identical purpose to Warner in that he is a actor who plays with leisure even in a longer format and can take a diversion divided from a opposition, his ability to get discerning runs could infer profitable on bowler-friendly wickets.

Shakib’s runs are profitable though it is with a round that a Tigers need his care in a immature attack.

Smith is a male who can make runs anywhere in a universe and customarily does, if Australia are to do good we feel he will have to lift his bat in jubilee some-more than once.

Lyon has cult standing in Australia though needs to infer his ability to play in Asia, where things should be easier for him though Test cricket is not a straight-forward beast.


Bangladesh squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Liton Das, Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Mominul Haque.

Australia XI (confirmed): Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Matthew Renshaw, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

Last 4 head-to-head results

2006 Second Test: Australia won by an innings and 80 runs in Chittagong
2006 First Test: Australia won by 3 wickets in Fatullah
2003 Second Test: Australia won by an innings and 90 runs in Cairns
2003 First Test: Australia won by an innings and 132 runs in Darwin

Match details

27-31 Aug 2017

10:00 (4:00 GMT) start, Lunch 12.00-12.40, Tea 14.40-15.00, Close 17.00

Umpires: Nigel Llong, Aleem Dar
TV Umpire: Ian Gould
Match referee: Jeff Crowe


Article source:

Related posts

Guardiola: Bravo faced ‘1000 times’ some-more vigour during Barca

Times of News

Mourinho: Another certain for Lindelof

Times of News

Vettel hopes to come behind ‘stronger’ in 2018

Times of News